Our Butterfly Wedding Cake!

In a previous post, I wrote about the inspiration for our cake.  These two pictures pretty much sum it up.

 butterflies martha cake

Butterfly Cake

I was anxiously awaiting the arrival of our cake.  Mr. G’s friend Meg was arriving nice and early to drop it off.  I was upstairs when he called up to me to say that she was here.  I ran down stairs and there she was!

Brunch Pictures 234

I was soooooooo excited to see it and it was totally awesome!!  Before we put all the butterflies on it, this is what it looked like.

Brunch Pictures 200

My oldest sister helped me open all of the butterflies and figure out how I wanted them.  Then I went to work putting them on the cake.  It stressed me out a little having to poke the wires in to that perfectly smooth and amazing cake.  What if I messed it up?!?! 

Brunch Pictures 058

Brunch Pictures 061

Finally, I finished putting all the butterflies on the cake.  I went a little crazy with the butterflies and ended up having way more than I needed.  My mom walked around and put a butterfly in each of the centerpieces.  It looked super cute.  This is the final product!!!!

 Brunch Pictures 028

 

Brunch Pictures 440

We were both so happy with it.  I couldn’t possibly thank Meg enough for how amazing it was!!!  To make it even better, it was super tasty!  Vanilla cake with orange buttercream! 

The cake was exactly what I wanted!!!!  It was PERFECT!!!

5 Comments

  1. December 18, 2009 at 6:05 pm

    […] (Above.  Top photo by Manish Arora via Whorange; Middle photo by Leda & St. Jacques via DustJacket Attic; Bottom photo of Butterfly cake by Martha Stewart via Soon to be Wed) […]

  2. July 8, 2010 at 3:57 am

    Dear,

    I am searching to whole world for silver butterflies to decorate my wedding cake. Can ypu please help me? Do you know a site where I can order these butteflies?

    Many thanks in advance.

    Kind regards
    Sofie Custers
    Belgium

  3. Ursa said,

    August 11, 2010 at 1:14 pm

    Dear,
    I am also looking for such beautiful butterflies. Can you tell me where can I order them? Please.

    Thank you.

    Kind regards
    Ursa Ravnik

  4. Ursa said,

    August 12, 2010 at 4:06 am

    I see now. 🙂 Thank you.
    You had really nice wedding.

    Bye,
    Ursa


Leave a Reply

